myNail Art – Stone Marble

I absolutely LOVE getting my nails done (who doesn’t?) and I equally love doing my own nails myself.
I find it relaxing actually. I normally do mine during the weekend while catching up on some of my favourite YouTubers. And just in time for a new week ahead, I’ve noticed a trend floating around in the nail art community, which happens to be the marble technique.

So I decided this week I’d try it out for myself and attempt the Stone Marble look.
The items you need are quite simple. White nail polish for the base, grey or black nail polish for the marble effect and a top coat.
You’ll also need, a bowl of room temperature water, hair spray, Q-tips and nail polish remove (it can get a little messy)
If you have all these items, read ahead and check out my tutorial on the stone marble nail art!

11410456_722005541244776_1478321865_n

Step 1: After you’ve done your personal nail care of cutting, filing and buffing. Apply a base coat before you apply two coats of you favourite white nail polish.

Marble1

Step 2: Once your base colour has fully dried, we can now get to the fun stuff. Have a bowl of room temperature water ready and make sure that it’s not too cold or not too hot. With your chosen colour of either gray or black, as close as you can to the surface of the water, let a few drops fall. The nail polish will spread evenly out on the surface of the water. If it doesn’t, make sure that your nail polish isn’t too old and that it’s nice and shaken before use. During trial and error, I found that if I used an older polish, that it wouldn’t work so well.

Marble2

Step 3: Almost immediately after dropping some nail polish on to the water, lightly spray some hair spray on top. This will react to the nail polish and create a web like effect. Once you’ve sprayed the hair spray, carefully dip your finger (nail down) on to the desired part of the grey or black nail polish and leave for a few seconds.

Marble3

Step 4: While your finger is still in the water, use a Q-tip or toothpick to collect the excess nail polish floating around. Take your finger out of the water and clean off any nail that’s left on your finger. Marble4

Step 5: Apply a top coat and wait for it to dry. Once your nail polish is completely dried, follow the steps again on all your other nails!

MArble5

And voila! Stone marble nail art! It’s a really fun and different way to paint your nails but trust me, if you’re in a rush, this is not the nail technique for you. It’s tedious and sometimes downright frustrating, when the hair spray doesn’t react to the nail polish like you want it to. Believe me, I know! But if you’re into your nail art, you can appreciate the different designs each nail will look like. And remember, you don’t have to do a white base with gray or black. You have all the colours of the rainbow to be creative with! Check out some of the other water marble designs below and get some #NailArtInspo!

saran-wrap-nails_bwpink_01Turquoise-stone-nail-art-2water_stone_marble1

Until next time,

Signature

9 thoughts on “myNail Art – Stone Marble

Leave a comment